Are you madabout kit cars      
 "We've Got Kit Cars Covered" Information about Madabout-Kitcars.com Contact Madabout-Kitcars.com         Home of UK kit cars - madabout-kitcars.com Various kit car write ups All the latest kit car news Kit car related and general discussion

Search
Manufacturers
Kit Cars
Kit Car Data sheets
Picture Gallery
SVA Knowledgebase
Clubs & Communities
Build cost estimator
Kit cars for sale
Knowledge Base 
KitcarUSA.com
Classic-Kitcars.com

Go Back   Madabout Kitcars Forum > Mad Build Area > General Build Chat

General Build Chat Area for general build chat, questions, tips, tricks and progress

Old 26th October 2011, 14:57

jas1159 is on a distinguished road
Default Suspension Setup / Geometry - Help and Advice

Hi guys,

I am a complete beginner willing to learn and asking for advice, trying to design a suspension system to suit a chassis I have designed, It is not too late to change the chassis design if the geometry requires it. I have a few questions in the essay below that I would be very grateful for an experienced point of view / advice to be given.

So I have read plenty of books including

1. Carroll Smith’s Tune to Win
2. Frank Thiessen’s Automotive Steering, Suspension & Braking Systems
3. Milliken’s Race Car vehicle Dynamics

Brilliant set of books 1 and 3 are highly recommended for suspension geometry!

Now these books tell me everything I need to know in terms of what each aspect is and how to change them, sticking with the basics I have

1. Camber
2. Caster
3. Toe

Now I want to start the design process with the upright / hub assembly as I have components that need to fit, it is more crucial at this stage than the chassis mounting locations that can be changed.
At this stage I am designing from scratch I have access to CNC etc and would like to create my own uprights, hubs and A arms / links rather than salvage parts.