Madabout Kitcars Forum

Madabout Kitcars Forum (https://madabout-kitcars.com/forum/index.php)
-   General Build Chat (https://madabout-kitcars.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Ballast Resistors (https://madabout-kitcars.com/forum/showthread.php?t=2128)

Knockout 24th April 2009 11:45

Ballast Resistors

Hello everyone,

I’ve just joined the forum and thought I’d say hello. I’m a bit of long-suffering builder (for various reasons) but if I tell you that I’m building a SYLVA striker I guess you’ll know just how long it’s been! I’m just getting back into the build now and about to make a final effort to finish the project. Anyway, if you don’t mind I have a question on ballast resistors and would appreciate your thoughts...

Basically, should I include a ballast resistor in my ignition circuit? From the research I’ve done I think that I should be fitting one as I have a 1.5 Ohm coil. But I’m not sure whether it would be just better to fit a 3 ohm coil and leave the resistor out. Am I likely to have starting problems if I go down this route as I understand the ballast resistor (well bypassing it) helps improve the spark for starting? What do people recommend?

By the way, the engine is a 1700cc crossflow currently still fitted with points (though I’m planning to fit an Aldon ignitor soon).

Cheers,
Chris

MartinClan 24th April 2009 13:46

Quote:

Originally Posted by Knockout (Post 15146)
Hello everyone,

I’ve just joined the forum and thought I’d say hello. I’m a bit of long-suffering builder (for various reasons) but if I tell you that I’m building a SYLVA striker I guess you’ll know just how long it’s been! I’m just getting back into the build now and about to make a final effort to finish the project. Anyway, if you don’t mind I have a question on ballast resistors and would appreciate your thoughts...